In 2006 the ATBC launched an Asia-Pacific Chapter to help promote tropical biology and conservation in the region. The chapter held a very successful inaugural conference in March 2007 at Mahabalipuram, India and will continue to hold annual regional meetings. The chapter is also supporting training activities in the region, such as graduate field courses, and workshops associated with the annual meetings. All ATBC members from the Asia-Pacific region are automatically members of the chapter, and other ATBC members interested in joining can do so without additional dues by writing to


Current board

Chair: Alice C. Hughes, Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden-Chinese Academy of Sciences

Secretary: Roman Carrasco, National University of Singapore

Treasurer: Lindsay Porter, University of St Andrews 

Council representative: Ahimsa Campos-Arceiz, University of Nottingham, Malaysia


Country Representatives

Australia: Steve Turton, Central University of Queensland

Cambodia: Sothearen Thi, Royal University of Phnom Penh

China: Bosco Chan, Kadoorie Farm & Botanic Garden

India: Ramesh Krishnamurthy, Wildlife Institute of India

Hawaiian Islands: Michelle Reynolds, Climate Scientist

Indonesia: Marsya Christyanti Sibarani, Wildlife Conservation Society – Indonesia Program

Malaysia: Sheema Abdul Aziz

Papua New Guinea: Pagi Toko, The New Guinea Binatang Research Center

Philippines: Aldrin Mallari, CCI

Singapore: Roman Carrasco, National University of Singapore

Sri Lanka: Enoka Kudavidanage, Tropical Ecosystem Research Network

Thailand: Tuanjit Sritongchuay, Prince of Songkla University

Vietnam: Truong Ba Vuong, Institute of Tropical Biology

Vacant: Bangladesh, Brunei, Japan, South Pacific, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Nepal and Pakistan

Representatives of the ATBC AP chapter at ATBC2014, Cairns, Australia