Asia-Pacific Chapter

DSC_8232

Representatives of the ATBC AP chapter at ATBC2014, Cairns, Australia.

In 2006 the ATBC launched an Asia-Pacific Chapter to help promote tropical biology and conservation in the region. The chapter held a very successful inaugural conference in March 2007 at Mahabalipuram, India and will continue to hold annual regional meetings. The chapter is also supporting training activities in the region, such as graduate field courses, and workshops associated with the annual meetings. All ATBC members from the Asia-Pacific region are automatically members of the chapter, and other ATBC members interested in joining can do so without additional dues by writing to asia@tropicalbio.org

Current board and committee

Board

Chair: Antony J. Lynam, Wildlife Conservation Society, Center for Global Conservation asia@tropicalbio.org (July 2015-June 2017)

Secretary: Alice C. Hughes, Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden-Chinese Academy of Sciences asia2@tropicalbio.org (July 2015-June 2017)

Treasurer: Vacant

Council representative (2015-2017): Ahimsa Campos-Arceiz, University of Nottingham, Malaysia ahimsa@camposarceiz.com

 

Country Representatives

Australia (July 2014-June 2017)

David Westcott, CSIRO david.westcott@csiro.au

Brunei (July 2014-June 2017)
Rahayu Sukri, Universiti Brunei Darussalam rahayu.sukri@ubd.edu.bn

Cambodia
Sothearan Thi, RUPP (Nominee for election in 2016)

China (July 2015-June 2018)
Bosco Chan, Kadoorie Farm & Botanic Garden boscokf@kfbg.org

Hawaiian Islands
Michelle Reynolds (Nominee for election in 2016)

Indonesia (January 2016-December 2018)
Marsya Christyanti Sibarani, WCS, msibarani@wcs.org

Japan (July 2014-June 2017)

Kaoru Kitajima, Kyoto University kaoruk@kais.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Malaysia (January 2016-December 2018)
Sheema Abdul Aziz, sheema.abdulaziz@gmail.com

Papua New Guinea (July 2014-June 2017)
Pagi Toko, The New Guinea Binatang Research Center pagi.sione@gmail.com

Phillippines (July 2014-June 2017)
Aldrin Mallari, aldrin.mallari@gmail.com

Sri Lanka (July 2015-June 2018)

Enoka Kudavidanage, NUS, enokakudavidanage@gmail.com

Thailand (January 2016-December 2018)
Tuanjit Sritongchuay, Prince of Songkla University t.sritongchuay@gmail.com 

Vietnam (July 2015-June 2018)
Truong Ba Vuong, Institute of Tropical Biology (July 2015-June 2018), bavuong2019@yahoo.com

Vacant: Bangladesh, India, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Singapore, South Pacific

IMG_3495

Tony Lynam and Alice Hughes at Conservation Asia 2016.

Tony Lynam, Alice Hughes and Kaoru Kitajima from the ATBC AP Chapter committee

Tony Lynam, Alice Hughes and Kaoru Kitajima from the ATBC AP Chapter committee

Representatives of local hosts and supporting institutions, and plenary speakers

Representatives of local hosts and supporting institutions, and plenary speakers

ATBC AP Chapter meeting participants gather for a plenary talk in the Palm Ballroom

ATBC AP Chapter meeting participants gather for a plenary talk in the Palm Ballroom

Alice Hughes with part of the local organizing committee for ATBC AP 2015

Alice Hughes with part of the local organizing committee for ATBC AP 2015