The Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation recognizes the exceptional research of our students and early career scientists with awards for outstanding presentations at the ATBC’s annual meeting. 

The Luis F. Bacardi Award for Advances in Tropical Conservation is awarded to individuals receiving their Ph.D. no more than 5 years before the meeting date who gives the best oral presentation. This award was established in 2005 with an endowment from the Lubee Bat Conservancy, an international non-profit organization that was founded in 1989 by the late Luis F. Bacardi, dedicated to protecting biological diversity through the conservation of fruit- and nectar-feeding bats.  

The Alwyn Gentry Presentation Awards are in recognition of the outstanding oral and poster presentations by students at the ATBC’s Annual Meeting. These awards are therefore in remembrance of Alwyn H. Gentry’s contributions to the study of the diversity and conservation of tropical plants and his legacy as a caring and supportive mentor to students from all over the Americas. Best student oral and poster presentations are also recognized by the Asia-Pacific Chapter Meetings Prizes.


The New Phytologist Trust is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of plant science. It owns and produces the international journal New Phytologist and is proud to support student researchers by awarding the New Phytologist Poster Prize in Plant Biology at the Annual Meeting.