Ecohydrology of Tropical Montane Forests – REU Program


The 10-week summer program (May 29- August 3, 2018) includes 5 weeks at the Texas A&M Soltis Center for Education and Research (Costa Rica) and 5 weeks on the campus of Texas A&M University (College Station, Texas, USA)


Purpose: The goal of this NSF-sponsored REU is to provide undergraduate students with an opportunity to develop essential skills in designing, executing and disseminating original research that quantifies the hydrologic and biogeochemical fluxes in the watershed of a tropical montane cloud forest. Students will have an opportunity to work on field and laboratory research under the guidance of faculty mentors at the Soltis Center near San Isidro in central Costa Rica( Past years of this REU program (2011-2013) resulted in several students enrolling in graduate school and publishing work from their research, in addition to gaining a rich cultural immersion and unique opportunity to conduct research in a tropical montane forest.

Eligibility: Undergraduate students must be US citizens or permanent residents, be 18 years of age or older (on March 1, 2018), be currently enrolled in a major in the earth or environmental sciences, engineering, or a related field, have a minimum grade point average of 3.0, expect to graduate no earlier than December 2018, and be eligible to have a passport that is valid for 6 months past the REU summer. Additional details are located on the REU website.

Support: Accepted students will received a $500 per week stipend for all 10 weeks and will have all travel and accommodation expenses covered. The program does not cover meals (on and off-campus) while in Texas or all off-campus expenses in Costa Rica, such as zip lining, adventure tours, white water rafting, etc.

For more information about the REU selection process, program, and study area, please visit our website You are invited to view photos of previous Costa Rica REU programs here: For general inquiries and questions about our application, contact: or the program leaders, Dr. Georgianne Moore (Department of Ecosystem Science and Management) and Dr. Kelly Brumbelow (Civil Engineering).