The Luis F. Bacardi Advances in Tropical Conservation Award was established in 2005 to foster high-quality conservation science in the tropics. It is awarded to the early-career conservation scientist who gives the best presentation at the annual meeting of the ATBC. Support for this award was generously provided to the ATBC by an endowment from the Lubee Bat Conservancy,  an international non-profit organization based in Gainesville, Florida. This organization was founded in 1989 by the late Luis F. Bacardi, and is dedicated to protecting biological diversity through the conservation of fruit- and nectar-feeding bats.

Eligibility and Application:

  • Eligibility is limited to ATBC members who have received their Ph.D. no more than five years before the meeting date.
  • The winner receives a certificate from the ATBC and a $300 award provided by the Lubee Bat Conservancy
  • In addition to the honorarium, the winner of the award will have his/her abstract and photo published in BIOTROPICA as well as his/her bio published at (see below, e.g. 2010).
  • All those who wish to be considered for the Bacardi Award must contact the Awards Co-Chairs at least 6 weeks prior to the ATBC meeting to inform them of your interest and to provide them with your ATBC membership number.

Co-Chairs of the Awards Committee: Lisa Davenport ( and Liza Comita (

Bacardi Award for Advances in Tropical Conservation

  • 2017 – Catarina Jakovac, International Institute for Sustainability, Brazil
  • 2016 – Oliver Wearn – Zoological Society of London (ZSL), UK
  • 2015 – Haldre Rogers – Rice University, USA
  • 2014 – Erin Kuprewicz – Smithsonian Institution, USA
  • 2013 – Tremaine Gregory – Smithsonian Institution, USA
  • 2012 – Paulo Brando – IPAM, Brazil
  • 2011 – Joseph W. Veldman – University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • 2010 – Amy Rodgers – Pinchot Institute for Conservation, Ecuador.
  • 2009 – no award
  • 2008 – Marco Mello – Departamento de Botanica, Universidade Federal de Sao Carlos, Brazil. Article
  • 2007 – J. Nicolas Urbina-Cardona – Instituto de Biologia, UNAM, Mexico. Article
  • 2006 – David P Bickford – National University of Singapore, Singapore. Article
  • 2005 – Cecília P. Alves-Costa – Lab. de Interação Vertebrado-Planta, Departamento de Zoologia, IB/UNICAMP. Campinas, SP, Brazil. Article